Cover image

Take the Sex Pledge!

That the Virtus Saga isn't just another dark fantasy series will become apparent upon reading all the reviews. It's central theme is about the making of a trio, which remains the main focus also in the rewriting of the first two books of the series. That's why I present The Sex's reviews under the Virtus Sex cover, for the two are essentially the same book. Virtus Sex is, in fact, a newer, more polished version of The Sex, with the same storyline enriched by the addition of more sex scenes and more explanations on how the three-way relationship comes together and grows.

I hope you enjoy reading the reviews as much as the books themselves!


Title: Virtus Sex
The Sex: Author's Cut
Series: Virtus Saga, Book 1
Author: Laura Tolomei
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 9781487424824
Released: April 2019
Format: Ebook, Paperback
Price: $5.43, $17.75
Length: 459 Pages
Genre: Fantasy Romance, Erotica, Gay LGBTQA+, Ménage à Trois, Dark Fantasy, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Stars
Reviewer Name: Sassy Brit


Reviewed April 2010

When Prince Caldwell returns home to his estate, Black Rose, he is reunited with a woman, Ylianor Meyer, who both he and his best friend, Chris, knew as children. Unbeknown to him, his mother, Sophia once banished the nine-year-old Ylianor from their estate, on account of her mother's affair with her husband. So Ylianor's rather surprising return rouses suspicions of her carrying with her an ulterior motive that may not be in the Prince's best interest. To complicate matters further, the reading of his father's Will brings more unexpected news and new problems the Prince's way.

Chris, now the Prince's lover, is none too pleased with Ylianor's untimely appearance, nor is he impressed with the way the girl enchants his lover with her beauty. But is Chris worried for the right reasons or is there a darker side to his love, which the Prince is yet to discover?

With a threat to Ylianor's life hanging over her, the Prince decides to take her along on a trip to visit Lord Fairchild. Unaware why Fairchild, the leader of the Council has summoned the boys, the trio are thrown together on a perilous journey of discovery where they must begin to mend their severed connections and awaken special powers before they can finally understand who they are, mind, body and soul.

Laura Tolomei builds a seductive fantasy world rich in detail where the rules of sex and relationships make for an alluring first book of a series. In a setting that fits the characters perfectly, The Sex pledges the continuing insight into a trio who all need each other, but are still learning why.

I liked her occasional use of the contemporary omniscient point of view. In addition, Laura's world building skills made Sendar's feudal-like society with its destructive energy a real treat for this lover of the fantasy genre. If there is one thing I didn't like, it has to be the Prince's name, Duncan. Unfortunately that's my own personal taste and bears little reflection on the author's ability to write a damned good story, which I hasten to add, this is.

I love the characters with their deep-rooted issues, and the hidden gifts they have to learn to use. Where Laura will take this series, I cannot guess, but I know I'll have fun travelling with her characters, as the Prince, Ylianor and Chris discover what their new lives hold in the forthcoming titles. Meanwhile, I'm left chomping at the bit for more, much like the Prince's horse, Fuzeon, until 15th May, when book two is to be released. Not too long to wait, but long enough!

Sassy Brit

Check it out!


VIRTUS SAGA - The Complete Series:
Book 1 Virtus Sex, The Sexy: Author's Cut - now available
Book 2 Virtus Game, The Game: Author's Cut - now available
Book 2.5 Not In The Game, Deleted scenes from The Game - now available
Book 3 The Festival - now available
Book 4 The Leader - now available
Book 5 The Pledge - now available
Book 6 The Heat - now available
Book 7 The Princess - now available
Book 8 The Lord - now available

#LauraTolomei #LallaGatta #reading #reviews